elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Wednesday, May 23, 2007

Flamin' Groovies - Flamingo

This is a reissue by Buddha Records of the original Flamingo album from 1970, along with six bonus tracks from a live-in-the-studio session that appeared in part on the 1976 compilation Still Shakin'. While the Flamin' Groovies' first album, Supersnazz, loaded their high-octane retro rock down with a loving but overly intrusive production, their next long-player, Flamingo, went in exactly the opposite direction; for their second time at bat (and their second major label), the Groovies cranked up their amps and kicked up the tempos, while producer Richard Robinson stripped the band's sound to the bone. If Flamingo has a flaw, it's that the album is just a bit too basic; the recording sounds a bit flat and muddy, and it isn't very flattering to either Tim Lynch's guitar or Danny Mihm's drums (and who fell in love with the panning control while they were mixing?). But if Flamingo sometimes sounds more like a demo than a finished album, it's a demo of a great band firing on all cylinders; with "Gonna Rock Tonite," the album starts out in fifth gear and never stops, with even the less manic tunes (such as the bluesy "Childhood's End") sounding sharp and full of fire, and the many rave-ups raving mighty fine indeed (notable exception: the trippy "She's Falling Apart," which proves these guys didn't understand psychedelia and had no business playing it, which was a considerable virtue in the Bay Area during the late '60s and early '70s). If the engineering sometimes lets them down, Flamingo does a far, far better job of capturing what made the Groovies a great band than their debut and ranks alongside their very finest work.
(Year of Release: 1970)

Track List:
1. Gonna Rock Tonite
2. Comin' After Me
3. Headin' for the Texas Border
4. Sweet Roll Me on Down
5. Keep a Knockin'
6. Second Cousin
7. Childhood's End
8. Jailbait
9. She's Falling Apart
10. Road House
11. My Girl Josephine (*)
12. Around and Around (*)
13. Rockin' Pneumonia and the Boogie Woogie Flu (*)
14. Somethin' Else (*)
15. Rumble (*)
16. Going Out Theme (Version 1)(*)

Download: Flamin' Groovies - Flamingo (98MB)


hdvns said...

Sweet! I love this record!
And yes, I'm up and running at:
I've already added you and some others. Thanks for the inspiration!

Zer0_II said...

Thanks hdvns... I'm glad I could inspire you. I added a link to your blog, and I left a comment over on yours. I look forward to seeing what you have to share.

Anonymous said...

found your last.fm profile while browsing some brit psych artists and found the link to your blog! just downloaded this... it's got great energy and awesome speed. love the throwback to the 50s rock. thanks thanks thanks. great blog too! :)

Anonymous said...

thanks a lot have never owned a digital version of this lp and have not played my vinyl for some time thanx again

Bill Hanscom said...

Any chance of a re-up? Love your blog.