elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Saturday, June 02, 2007

Fu Manchu - Eatin' Dust

I thought that I would post this album since the Man's Ruin label is going out of business, and this album is out of print now.
After releasing Fu Manchu's remake of Blue Oyster Cult's "Godzilla" as a 10-inch vinyl single in 1998, Man's Ruin released their sixth album Eatin' Dust CD in February 1999. Eatin' Dust featured eight tracks: five brand new recordings plus all three cuts from 'Godzilla'. Greatly influenced by the heavy metal of the early '70s, this CD offers a stripped down, garage-like approach to classic metal and steers clear of pop gloss. Fu Manchu was once referred to as "the band for those who miss Kyuss". Though not entirely inaccurate (No One Rides For Free, the band's debut, sounds a bit like Kyuss' debut, Wretch), labelling the band as a Kyuss clone does not do them justice. Fu Manchu do have a 70's stoner groove influence, but their songs are more straightforward and lack the drawn-out psychedelics of the later Kyuss albums. Nonetheless, they are as influential and representative of stoner rock as any band out there. From "Godzilla" to forceful originals like "Eatin' Dust," "Mongoose" and "Module Overload," Eatin' Dust recalls '70s metal with pleasing results.

Track List:
1. Godzilla
2. Module Overload
3. Living Legend
4. Eatin' Dust
5. Shift Kicker
6. Orbiter
7. Mongoose
8. Pigeon Toe

Download: Fu Manchu - Eatin' Dust (31.2MB)


Anonymous said...

man's ruin records ... those were the days...

thanks for sharing!

Zer0_II said...

I'll see what I can do about uploading more material from the Man's Ruin label, considering they will all also be out of print. Hopefully we can save them from slipping into total obscurity.