elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Tuesday, June 02, 2009

Southland Tales OST

Southland Tales is the follow-up to Richard Kelly's debut film, Donnie Darko. Don't be fooled by a film floating around out there called S. Darko which is marketed as a "sequel" but is really a completely unrelated cheap attempt to cash in on the success of the original. In reality, there is no sequel to Donnie Darko but Southland Tales is as close it comes. Kelly uses an incredible ensemble cast to explore familiar themes of time travel, identity, and destiny weaving a tale worthy of eventual cult classic status.

Although half of my reason for posting this is to encourage people to watch the movie, the soundtrack is no slouch either. Original music composed by Moby and a good mix of other tunes make this a decent compilation on its own. The Pixies, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, and Jane's Addiction are among the more familiar names but there are also some pretty obscure tracks and some that were composed for the film such as a very interesting re-working of the Star-Spangled Banner. Enjoy!


1. Wave of Mutilation - The Pixies (UK Surf Version)
2. Oh My Angel - Bertha Tillman
3. Howl - Black Rebel Motorcycle Club (Extended Version)
4. Look Back In - Moby
5. Me & Bobby McGee - Waylon Jennings
6. Chord Sounds - Moby
7. Lucky Me - Roger Webb
8. 3 Steps - Moby
9. Broken Hearted Savior - Big Head Todd & The Monsters
10. Teen Horniness Is Not a Crime - Abbey McBride/ClarKent/Sarah Michelle Gellar
11. Tiny Elephants - Moby
12. Forget Myself - Elbow
13. Star Spangled Banner, The - Rebekah Del Rio & The Section Quartet
14. Three Days - Jane's Addiction (Live Version)
15. Memory Gospel - Moby


Anonymous said...

hello... hapi blogging... have a nice day! just visiting here....

icastico said...

The mixed reviews of this movie are intriguing...must add to my netflix.

Thanks as always.

d6j6r6 said...

no pw?