elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Friday, November 10, 2006

Hot Snakes - Automatic Midnight

Since the last Hot Snakes album I posted was well received, I thought I would follow it up with this one. I suppose I probably should have posted this album first, since it is their debut, and the previous album I posted was their sophomore release.

Few albums provide an immediate jolt like Hot Snakes' debut. For a rocking good time, this band is pretty tough to beat. "Automatic Midnight" is aggressive, in-your-face, and extremely fun to listen to, coming off sort of like Nirvana with loads of swagger instead of self-conscious angst. While Hot Snakes' sound is loosely classifiable as punk or hardcore, the band transcends easy genre labels with tight, focused songwriting, razor-sharp musicianship, and a stunning level of rhythmic heft. Rick Froberg screams with such urgency his vocal cords sound like they could snap at any moment, and the band behind him is a marvel of intensity and efficiency.

The concise opening double shot of "If Credit's What Matters I'll Take Credit" and the title track (total running time: about four minutes) proves the band to be noise merchants of the highest order, with Froberg's fierce shout joined by a pummelling wall of guitars, piledriving drums, and basslines that sound like nukes going off. It doesn't let up from there, either: "Automatic Midnight" is pure adrenaline from start to finish, perfect for waking up on a hungover Sunday morning (or so I'm told). The album's best song, the woozy "Salton City," wavers and staggers like a drunk, propelled by a surprisingly intricate drum beat from Jason Sinclair. If you're into indie music, you owe this album a listen. Highly recommended. (Year of Release: 2000)

Track List:
1. If Credit's What Matters I'll Take Credit
2. Automatic Midnight
3. No Hands
4. Salton City
5. 10th Planet
6. Light Up The Stars
7. Our Work Fills The Pews
8. Past Lives
9. Mystery Boy
10. Apartment 0
11. Let It Come

Download: Hot Snakes - Automatic Midnight (28.8MB)


Anonymous said...

Thanks for such a killer record. Hot Snakes are amazing. Suicide Invoice is probably my fave record of the last years. Hope you like the Lime Spiders and New Christs records.


Anonymous said...

Hey there Zer0! Cheers for a very nice post!

Saw your reply to me over at inTOXXYcated! and I wanna say hanx for your kind words.

Yeah, see you around indeed Zer0!