elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Sunday, February 10, 2008

Betty X - Memoirs Of A Pain Junkie

Betty Zoe Kaylor, better known as the performance artist Betty X, has been making music since the mid-90's, when she formed the controversial art rock band, Salon Betty. After the group disbanded, she decided to pursue a solo career, releasing Bad Side of Love in 1999. Her current self-titled solo project is much heavier and darker than previous material; with heavy, loud and grinding guitars, breakneck tempos, apocalyptic distortion and noise, moody sound-scapes and extremely aggressive, distorted vocals, the music is best described as industrial metal.

The newer songs cover a range of genres, however: "Human Disease" has the totalitarian/Orwellian flavor of Marilyn Manson, "Dystopia" is a poppy, bass-driven tune a la Nine Inch Nails, "Mons Venus" is a dark and sultry rock piece akin to P.J. Harvey, and most of Memoirs of a Pain Junkie could be considered straight-forward alternative metal in the style of Ministry's Psalm 69. Memoirs of a Pain Junkie is Betty X's third solo release and first full-length album. It is also her heaviest and hardest-hitting material to date. The album was released in 2006 through Anti-Social Records.

Track List:
1. Necrotic
2. Chainsaw
3. Bloodworm
4. Ultraviolence
5. Shoot'em Up
6. Bleed
7. The Snake Pit
8. Ossuary 13
9. Pain Junkie

Download: Betty X - Memoirs Of A Pain Junkie (32MB)


Anonymous said...

how can i get the file 2 mp3 format