elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Wednesday, November 12, 2008

Coachwhips - Hands on the Controls

The Coachwhips were a three-piece noise/punk rock outfit from San Francisco, California formed in 2001. John Dwyer (also of Pink and Brown, Landed, Burmese, The Ohsees, Yikes, The Hospitals) was the guitarist/vocalist. John Harlow played drums and Mary Ann McNamara played keyboard/tambourine and provided backing vocals. In their second incarnation, Val (tronic) played keyboard/tambourine, and Matt Hartman (former guitarist for Cat Power, current drummer for Sic Alps) played drums.

Coachwhips are known for their stripped-down, unpolished garage rock and completely inaudible lyrics, a sound that is similar to The Oblivians and The Gories. Coachwhips played their last show in New York City in late 2005.

Year of Release: 2002
Label: Black Apple
Genre: Noise Rock
Bitrate: 192kbps

Track List:
1. Hands on the Controls
2. Everybody Wants Some
3. The Ride
4. OK, Next Day
5. Look Into My Eyes When I Come
6. Wheelchair
7. When I Go
8. G.A.R.Y.
9. N.Y.C.L.O.V.E.
10. Mary Ann
11. This Bitch Is Gonna End Up Dead
12. Yeah, Yeah, Yeah!
13. We Can't Go Back To My Place
14. Sex Like A Seesaw
15. By The Way
16. These Things Belong To Someone
17. Wite Lies
18. OK, Next Day (Live)
19. That Bitch Is Gonna End Up Dead (Live)

Download: Coachwhips - Hands on the Controls
Download Size: 42MB


seconefan said...


Oh, robot said...

How in God's name could nobody comment on a Coachwhips post??!!


Anyway, great blog. Thanks for being in the same "music nerd" gang as I am.