elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Thursday, November 20, 2008

Robert Petway - Catfish Blues: Mississippi Blues Vol. 3 (1936-1942)

Catfish Blues: Mississippi Blues Vol. 3 contains two different sets of recordings. The first is of great importance, as it collects the entire recorded output of early blues artist Robert Petway. Very little is known about Petway. His birthplace is speculated to have been at or near J.F. Sligh Farm near Yazoo City, Mississippi, birthplace of his close friend and fellow bluesman Tommy McClennan. His birthdate is guessed at 1908, and the date and even the occurrence of his death is unknown. There is only one known picture of Petway, a publicity photo from 1941. In 1941-42 Robert Petway recorded 16 tracks in two different sessions for Bluebird Records in Chicago. Of these 16 tracks, 14 were released. Despite his obscurity, Petway is cited as a major influence by several legendary blues and rock musicians, including Jimi Hendrix and Muddy Waters. There is no record, official or unofficial, of Petway's death. As such, he may still be alive, though he would be roughly 100 years old. The last record of his public life is a quote from Honeyboy Edwards: "nobody I know heard what become of him."

The second set of recordings are from a 1936 session in New Orleans, Louisiana, released as "Sonny Boy Nelson With Mississippi Matilda and Willie Harris. In 1936, Eugene Powell, along with his wife "Mississippi Matilda", and harmonica player Willie Harris traveled to New Orleans to record for the Bluebird label. Setting up at the St. Charles Hotel, Powell cut six sides during these sessions under the moniker Sonny Boy Nelson, a name he took in recognition of his stepfather Sid Nelson. Among these numbers were classics such as "Street Walkin' Woman" and "Pony Blues". He also accompanied Matilda on four tracks and harmonica player Robert Hill on 10 more.

Track List:
1. Catfish Blues
2. Ride `em on Down
3. Rockin' Chair Blues
4. My Little Girl
5. Let Me Be Your Boss
6. Left My Baby Crying
7. Sleepy Woman Blues
8. Don't Go Down Baby
9. Bertha Lee Blues
10. Boogie Woogie Woman
11. Hollow Log Blues
12. In the Evening
13. My Baby Left Me
14. Cotton Pickin' Blues

Mississippi Matilda
15. A & V Blues
16. Hard Working Woman
17. Happy Home Blues

Sonny Boy Nelson
18. Long Tall Woman
19. Low Down
20. Lovin` Blues
21. Street Walkin'
22. If You Don't Believe I'm Leaving Baby
23. Pony Blues

Download: Catfish Blues: Mississippi Blues Vol. 3
Download Size: 61MB