elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Saturday, April 05, 2008

Redd Kross - Born Innocent

Someone on the skafunkrastapunk forum requested this, so here's some more Redd Kross for everyone...

Originally issued in 1982, Born Innocent was the debut full-length release from Redd Kross, a band of suburban L.A. youth fronted by brothers Jeff (guitar, vocals) and Steve McDonald (bass). Aged 18 and 14, respectively, the aspiring punks are aided and abetted here by rhythm guitarist Tracy Lee and drummers Janet Housden and John Stielow as they attack these 16 songs with all the patience of over-stimulated teens and all the subtlety of a slasher flick. The average song length falls below the two-minute mark, during which time Jeff McDonald's whine is rarely coherent above the clamor of his band's brutal rock assault. The punk negation of titles like "Kill Someone You Hate," "Look up at the Bottom," and "Notes and Chords Mean Nothing to Me" couldn't be more appropriate descriptions for this music. "Solid Gold" is a slice of dislocated blues while "St. Lita Ford Blues" disintegrates from a stop-start punk party (complete with jubilant screams) to a raucous three-chord blur. Included for good measure are tributes to both actress Linda Blair ("Linda Blair") and serial killer Charles Manson ("Charlie" and a cover of Manson's own "Cease to Exist"). Though subsequent releases found Redd Kross cleaning up their act, this debut captures them in all their youthful glory; documenting the sound of the McDonalds and company unleashed on an unsuspecting set of guitars, bass, and drums. (Year of Release: 1982)

Track List:
1. Linda Blair
2. White Trash
3. Everyday There's Something New
4. Solid Gold
5. Burn-Out
6. Charlie
7. Tatum O'Tot And The Fried Vegetables
8. St. Lita Ford Blues
9. Self Respect
10. Pseudo-Intellectual
11. Kill Someone You Hate
12. Look On Up At The Bottom
13. Cellulite City
14. I'm Alright
15. Cease To Exist
16. Notes And Chords Mean Nothing To Me

Download: Red Kross - Born Innocent (22.3MB)


Anonymous said...

Thanks for sharing Redd Kross's early recordings.

I like their later pop sound and am interested to see where they came from.

J. King

milo said...

Good Post! Still have my vinyl copies of this + "Teen Babes". great mix of essentials on the site (listening to your Bauhaus now).

Anonymous said...

thank you Mike! its very cool!

Zer0_II said...

Fillzy: You're welcome. As far as I'm concerned you will always have VIP type status on this blog. If you ever have a request you will get #1 priority. Don't think that I've forgotten about you also. It's just taking a little longer than I thought it would to get everything together and ready to send to you. I'll send you an e-mail about it, and advertising (if you want it) tomorrow. Take care my friend.

Anonymous said...

thanks for posting; have the vinyl somewhere and havn't listened to it in ages but i'm sure i can still sing along.


Ade3333 said...

There are only 13 tracks in the download, could you post the missing tracks please.

Zer0_II said...

Ade3333: Unfortunately it will probably be a while before I am able to reupload any albums. I'm going to be moving within a month, but until I do the computer which has the majority of my music on it will be in storage. Fortunately I'm not the only blogger who has posted this album. I did a google search which returned a few results. http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8&q=site:blogspot.com+%2B%22redd+kross%22+%2B%22born+innocent%22