elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Thursday, April 24, 2008

Bad Brains - Rock For Light

I can't tell you how long this cassette stayed in my car at one time. Bad Brains second album, produced by Ric Ocasek, is their most shining moment. This album just boils over with raw energy and talent. A few years back some dumb ass decided to mess with the production when they re-released this on CD. They really did a number on it, muting the amazing lead guitar and generally castrating the album. Luckily, I found this version which was ripped off the original vinyl @ 192kbps so don't worry, this is the one you want to hear. The band goes from rippin' hardcore like "Big Takeover" and "How Low Can A Punk Get?" to soft reggae tunes without missing a beat or making the album feel like it's incoherent. To me, this is one of those albums where it's hard to listen to just one song when you get used to it. If I start playing it, I have to play it until it's finished. H.R. is in his strongest form here, going from unrestrained anger to contemplative and spiritual and back again. It's a shame they don't rock like this anymore but at least we have the records. Anyway, crack open a beer and do some lawn work while you blast this out your window and disturb the neighbors. They'll think it's over when it gets to the soft stuff.

Track List:
1. At The Movies
2. Attitude
3. Banned In D.C.
4. Big Takeover
5. Coptic Times
6. Destroy Babylon
7. F.V.K.
8. How Low Can A Punk Get?
9. I And I Survive
10. Joshua's Song
11. Rally Round Jah Throne
12. Right Brigade
13. Riot Squad
14. Rock For Light

Download: Bad Brains - Rock For Light


POGOpundit said...

i love this record, but all i've ever had is the CD. i'm real excited to hear the vinyl rip, thanks!

Anonymous said...

thank you for sharing. i love sharebee. great idea than rapidshare. thanks.

Anonymous said...

Thank you for making this available...a gem indeed!

Anonymous said...

Amen to that brother - truly a classic. Felt the same way about the ROIR cassette when it came out btw! Still got both tucked away somewhere.