elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Saturday, December 08, 2007

Masamichi Amano - Battle Royale OST

This is the official movie sountrack for the Japanese film Battle Royale. For those who haven't had the pleasure of watching this very controversial movie, here is a short plot summary

Battle Royale takes place in an alternate timeline in which Japan is a police state, known as the Republic of Greater East Asia. Every year fifty 3rd year junior high (grade 9) classes are chosen to forcibly fight to the death against one another until one student per class remains alive.

I believe this soundtrack is perfect for those who love classical, those who aren't familiar with it, and even those who wouldn't normally like it. Much like the film, this album creates a mood of excitement with powerful, dramatic, and even violent music, all the while remaining beautiful at the same time. The soundtrack mixes original pieces by composer Masamichi Amano, alongside classical masterpieces by the likes of Verdi, Bach, Strauss, and Schubert.

Track List:
01. Requiem (Verdi) Prologue (Masamichi Amano)
02. Millenium Education Reform Act
03. Teacher
04. The Game Begins
05. Memory
06. Slaughter House
07. Radetsky March (Johann Strauss I)
08. Student Battles
09. Blue Danube Waltz (Johann Strauss II)
10. Escape
11. Nanahara and Noriko friendship
12. Auf Dem Wasser Zu Singen (Franz Schubert)
13. Kawada's Theme
14. Kiriyama Attacks
15. Mimuras Determination
16. Utsumi and Nanahara Poison Medecine
17. The War of Girls Without Faith Nor Law
18. Reunion
19. Air From Orchestral Suite No.3 in D Major (Johann Sebastian Bach)
20. The Third Man
21. Teacher and Student Final Battle
22. Bitter Victory
23. A New Journey
24. Bonus Track - Shizuka Na Hibi No Kaidan Wo

Download: Masamichi Amano - Battle Royale (133.2MB)


Anonymous said...

Cool movie! I've heard rumors of an American remake, but honestly wonder how they could possibly pull it off...

Anonymous said...

The download link is not working. It needs to be re-posted.