elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Saturday, July 12, 2008

The Gun Club - Death Party

This was originally posted on the PunchDrunk blog, which unfortunately is no longer around. Gun Club's Death Party EP was issued in 1983 between 'Miami', the band's second album, and 'Las Vegas Story'. The recording also features a new and extremely short-lived lineup that featured guitarist Jim Duckworth (Panther Burns), drummer Dee Pop (Bush Tetras), a friend of his on bass named Jimmy Joe Uliana, and Pierce's then girlfriend Linda "Texacala" Jones on backing vocals. The five tracks could have been outtakes from Miami, powerful, dark rock of disillusionment, drug abuse, and warped sexuality. The pathos on the Gun Club's best records is missing here, but the quality of the songwriting makes up for it some. Certainly fans will want this. [In 2004, Sympathy for the Record Industry reissued the EP on compact disc with seven bonus tracks from a live performance on Radio Geneva. What's notable about it is Pierce's between-song banter, which is entertaining, snotty, and obviously intoxicated, and he plays piano on every tune. This gig is also the first recorded performance of bassist Patricia Morrison (aka Pat Bag from the L.A. punk quartet the Bags) with the band. (She would remain for years before leaving to join the Sisters of Mercy.) The material from the radio gig contains three tunes from Death Party, covers of "Run Through the Jungle" the old roots rock nugget "Heebie Jeebies," and Lewis Allan's "Strange Fruit," as well as a scorching rendition of "Fire of Love.

Year of Release: 1983/Reissued in 2004
Label: Sympathy For The Record Industry
Genre: Blues, Punk, Rock
Bitrate: 320kbps

Track List:
1. The House on Highland Ave.
2. The Lie
3. The Light Of The World (Live)
4. Death Party
5. Come Back Jim
6. Strange Fruit (Live)
7. Fire Of Love (Live)
8. The House On Highland Ave. (Live)
9. Death Party (Live)
10. Heebie Jeebies (Live)
11. The Lie (Live)
12. Run Through The Jungle (Live)

Download: The Gun Club - Death Party
Download Size: 129MB


One Kid Germ said...

Nice post!