elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Tuesday, November 13, 2007

Bluetip - Join Us

Bluetip formed from the ashes of Swiz, one of the most popular bands in the younger DC hardcore scene of the late 80s. Their singer, Shawn Brown, had been the original Dag Nasty vocalist, and they were on the Sammich Records label, which was distributed by Dischord Records. In 1995, several years after Swiz broke up, former members Jason Farrell and Dave Stern reunited to form Bluetip, with bassist Jake Kump and drummer Zac Eller (Worlds Collide). Bluetip had a serious work-ethic, they released 3 albums on Dischord Records, as well as several singles and split releases on various labels, and toured relentlessly, making many trips through the U.S., Europe, and Japan. Inner-band turmoil resulted in a number of line-up changes. Zac left shortly after the release of their first album, "Dischord No. 101", and was eventually replaced by Dave Bryson. Dave Stern left after the release of "Join Us" and was replaced by Brian Clancy, leaving Jason and Jake as the only original members. In 2001, when Jason moved to New York, the band eventually folded.

Bluetip plays pure, unadulterated rock, mixing sneering vocals with wailing guitars and stop-start time changes. This is fierce, angular post-punk, melding the energy of Fugazi and Jawbox with an intense, swelling melodicism. Singer Jason Farrell contorts his voice to meld with the intense guitars and pounding rhythm section, riding the manic time changes like a rubber skateboarder.
(Year of Release: 1998)

Track List:
1. Yellow Light
2. Cheap Rip
3. Join Us
4. Castanet
5. Carbon Copy
6. Salinas
7. F-
8. I Even Drive Like A Jerk
9. Bad Flat
10. Jersey Blessed
11. Cold Start
12. Slovakian

Download: Bluetip - Join Us (55.3MB)