elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Thursday, November 15, 2007

NoMeansNo - Wrong

Following the release of Wrong, Nomeansno could have safely laid down their instruments knowing that they'd just put out the definitive jazzcore album. From the opening bass thuds to the final notes, there's nothing on the album that could be considered a misstep. The playing is incredibly skilled, with the Wright brothers effortlessly shifting tempos and time signatures and Kerr's razor sharp lyrics clicking right into place. Throughout, the album is fused with a sense of energy that was missing from Small Parts Isolated and Destroyed. Best of all is the silly "Rags and Bones" with Kerr (referred to on this release as "none of your f*cking business") claiming that he is "married to a cigarette butt lying in the gutter" over some of the most complex instrumentation you're ever likely to find in good ol' punk rawk. Although they still had a number of albums in them, Nomeansno would never top this one.

Track List:
1. It's Catching Up
2. The Tower
3. Brainless Wonder
4. Tired Of Waiting
5. Stocktaking
6. The End Of All Things
7. Big Dick
8. Two Lips, Two Lungs And One Tonque
9. Rags And Bones
10. Oh No! Bruno!
11. All Lies
12. Life In Hell
13. I Am Wrong

Download: NoMeansNo - Wrong (70.2MB)


Anonymous said...

Great, great album. I saw em live on this tour in Santa Barbara, CA - it was just nuts. Like seeing KING CRIMSON rip through the MINOR THREAT catalog! Amazing.

Hey and welcome back - your regular blogging was something I've missed these past few months.

Anonymous said...

I agree: this is a masterpiece.