elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Sunday, November 25, 2007

Various Artists - Southern Fried Funk

Soul Music from America's deep south is typically distinguished by its raw human spirit and its earthy down-home feel which so often mirrors the people who made it and the places where it was made. But, despite its apparent simplicity, the music is not very easily defined - and it even more difficult to emulate. The essence and atmosphere of the music was fiercely retained by many southern soul artists and producers - particularly the independent operators - at a time when music from other parts of the USA became more sophisticated and began to lose regional idenitity. The flavour is everything. This albums presents a selection of funky tracks from a rich period in the history of southern soul.

For New Orleans music collectors, or fans of funk, this CD has some hard (or impossible) to find obscurities by Warren Lee, Eldridge Holmes, David Batiste and the Gladiators (the great and un-issued “Funky Hips”), and Diamond Joe, plus several Eddie Bo projects, and a funky Wardell Quezergue production on Jewell Bass.
(Year of Release: 2006)

Track List:
1. Get Out Of My Life Woman - Allen Toussaint
2. Everything I Do Gonh Be Funky (From Now On) - Lee Dorsey
3. Underdog Backstreet - Warren Lee
4. Pop, Popcorn Children - Eldridge Homes
5. It's A Hang Up Baby - Z.Z. Hill
6. Lonely Weekend - Tony Borders
7. The Book - Eldridge Holmes
8. The ABC Song - Diamond Joe
9. Real Soul - Ted Ford
10. High On The Hog - Tony Borders
11. Funky Soul (Parts 1&2) - David Batiste & The Gladiators
12. Can I Be Your Squeeze? - Chuck Carbo & The Soul Finders
13. I Think I'd Do It - Z.Z. Hill
14. Make It Real (Ride On) - Betty Adams
15. Funky Hips (Parts 1&2) - David Batiste & The Gladiators
16. Garden Of Four Trees - The Explosions
17. I'm A Carpenter (Part 1) - David Robinson
18. I'm A Carpenter (Part 2) - David Robinson
19. Can You Handle It - Eddie Bradford
20. I Tried It And Liked It - Jewel Bass
21. Milk - The Basic
22. You Made Your Bed - Eddie Bradford

Download: Various Artists - Southern Fried Funk (62.6MB)


Anonymous said...

YEEEEAAAH!!! thank you man! you rock!! 2 mouth ago your blog has no updates, and I thought that you leave this, but today I cheked you blog and saw a lots of new ? incredible shares by you!! you come back! and its very cool news!! keep on man, and thank you for brilliant shares

Zer0_II said...

Anonymous: Thank you for the compliments. I'm glad that you like the recent stuff I've put up. I had to take a bit of a vacation to take care of some personal demons, but hopefully I'm not going anywhere any time soon.

Anonymous said...

Hellz yes. THANK YOU.