elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Friday, November 09, 2007

Roky Erickson - I Think of Demons

Roky's catalog is sometimes a maze of different versions and inferior recordings, but one may find this to be a suitable overview of his 80s material, most of which is mind-bogglingly hooky and energetic for a rocker of his age and psychic history. His obsession with demons, aliens, and other horror trappings is more of a charm than a crutch; however, if you're not into it, making it through song titles like "I think of Demons," "I Walked With A Zombie," "Don't Shake Me Lucifer," and "Creature with the Atom Brain" will not endear you to the man's particular world view. But if you are into that, or can simply stomach it, you'll be rewarded with hooks whose simplicity defies logic, and punk-esque energy which defies the age and multiple institutionalizations of its creator.

If you've ever wondered what becomes of 60s garage rockers who can continue to turn out great tunes while acts like the Pretty Things and the Flamin' Groovies may disappoint now, or if you wonder where artists like Robyn Hitchcock, Julian Cope, and even (sometime collaborators) the Butthole Surfers draw their inspiration from, look no further than Roky.

Track List:
1. Two Headed Dog
2. I Think Of Demons
3. I Walked With A Zombie
4. Don't Shake Me Lucifer
5. Night Of The Vampire
6. Bloody Hammer
7. White Faces
8. Cold Night For Alligators
9. Creature With The Atom Brain
10. Mine Mine Mind
11. Stand For The Fire Demon
12. The Wind And More

Download: Roky Erickson & the Aliens - I Think of Demons (57.3MB)


jeffen said...

Thanks for the Roky - it is a baffling discography but fascinating to wade through.

P.S> the 'gremlins' link is broken (it downloads but not with a file that can be opened.)


Anonymous said...

thanx for Rockys best record!!!!!!!1