elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Saturday, December 22, 2007

Distorted Pony - Punishment Room

Big thanks go out to Ian from the Shark Fin blog for originally uploading this. It's a new blog, but there is some great stuff to be found there already.

Distorted Pony formed in 1986 as the golden age of Los Angeles' punk/post punk eras were winding down. The duo of guitarist David Uskovich (aka David U) and bassist Tricia Pistay (aka Dora Jahr) enlisted the services of a drum machine after failed attempts to locate a suitable human specimen. Shortly thereafter Ted Carroll (aka Theodore Jackson) came on board to provide additional percussion (ala sheet metal, trash cans and the like) along with Robert "Hammer" Eisenhamer on second guitar. After a 7-inch for Piece of Mind Records, the foursome recorded their "Work Makes Freedom" EP for the long-running indie Bomp Records. With it's repetitive skronk and calculated beats, one can easily identify the influence of Big Black throughout, yet the press was in agreement that while DP proudly wore their influences on their debut, the future looked promising.

Having avoided a fleshy drummer long enough, veteran skinsman London May (ex-Dag Nasty/Samhain) joined the fold and as a 5-piece the band reached a whole new level. In January of 1992, they recorded their first full-length, "Punishment Room" (also for Bomp), on an 8-track in the their house with the help of budding producer Steve Albini. It was later mixed in Steve's studio in Chicago. The addition of a live drummer added new depth, an organic and straight to the gut immediacy lacking on earlier recordings. Comparisons were drawn to acts as diverse as Big Black, Cop Shoot Cop, Jesus ans Mary Chain, Pussy Galore, and Birthday Party.

Track List:
1. Hod
2. Death In The Turnstile
3. God's List
4. Splinter
5. Krank
6. Gutbug
7. Castration Anxiety
8. Powerless
9. Plague Bed
10. Down Where The Dirt Collects
11. Fee Schedule
12. Sinner's Prayer
13. Forensic Interest
14. Blare
15. Pillar Of Salt

Download: Distorted Pony - Punishment Room (71MB)


Metagnathous said...

Thank you! Looks like you have the wrong tracklist above however.

Zer0_II said...

Thanks metagnathous. I'm not sure how that happened, but it's fixed now. btw can I get an invite to your blog?

Metagnathous said...

I'm afraid I don't have a blog at this point, but only an empty profile page. But certainly I'll get an invite to you when I finally get something going.

Excellent blog, by the way. Very well done. Also, many thanks for the Distorted Pony, 45 Grave and Christian Death. All well worth hearing.

Anonymous said...

This album is fabulous and the new blog is indeed good.

Eric said...
This comment has been removed by the author.