elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Sunday, October 05, 2008

Asian Dub Foundation - Enemy of the Enemy

"Their music can best be described as a a cocktail of traditional Indian and Asian music, electro, reggae, dub, hip-hop, along with a dash of punk rock."Asian Dub Foundation formed in 1993 as an outgrowth of the documentary Identical Beat, a film shot at London's Farringdon Community Music House, the site of a series of summer workshops designed to teach Asian children the essentials of music technology. In charge of the workshops were tutor Aniruddha Das and youth worker John Pandit, also a noted DJ; with one of their students, a 14-year-old Bengali rapper named Deeder Zaman, they soon formed a sound system which they called the Asian Dub Foundation. Their music can best be described as a a cocktail of traditional Indian and Asian music, electro, reggae, dub, hip-hop, along with a dash of punk rock.

After each adopted an alias — bassist/tabla player Das became Dr. Das, Pandit became Pandit G, and Zaman became Master D — they gradually evolved into a working band with the 1994 addition of former Higher Intelligence Agency and Atom Spies guitarist Steve Chandra Savale, an innovative performer known for tuning his strings to one note (like a sitar), turning up the distortion unit and playing his instrument with a knife, earning him the nickname "Chandrasonic." Emerging in the midst of considerable anti-Asian violence throughout Britain, the Foundation's early demos landed them a contract with Nation Records, and they recorded their debut EP Conscious in 1994. Deeder Zaman left the band after playing his last concert on New Year's Eve 2000, and the band expanded to include Pritphal Rajput (dhol, tabla), Rocky Singh (drums), MC Spex (vocals) and Akhtarvator (vocals).

Enemy of the Enemy was released in 2003, and it would eventually become ADF's best selling album to date. It featured the track "Fortress Europe", made famous by it's inclusion on the video game Need For Speed: Underground. Enemy of the Enemy also marked the first time that noted musicians collaborated with ADF. Sinéad O'Connor makes a guest appearance on the track "1000 Mirrors", a haunting song about a women serving life in prison for killing her abusive husband. Radiohead's Ed O'Brien also appeared on three tracks (1000 Mirrors, Blowback, and Enemy of the Enemy). Due to the revolving door lineup of ADF, each new album they release tends to be different from the last, but this album would mark a significent point in ADF's history because of the departure of Master D. Lyrically the album doesn't compare to previous albums such as the award winning Rafi's Revenge, or Community Music, however they seem to have perfected their blend of dub basslines, jungle loops, and sitar-influenced rock guitars on this album.

Year of Release: 2003
Label EMI
Genre: World Fusion, Reggae, Dub, Hip-Hop
Bitrate: 128kbps

Track List:
1. Fortress Europe
2. Rise To The Challenge
3. La Haine
4. 1000 Mirrors
5. 19 Rebellions
6. Blowback
7. 2 Face
8. Power To The Small Massive
9. Dhol Rinse
10. Basta
11. Cyberabad
12. Enemy of the Enemy

Download: Asian Dub Foundation - Enemy of the Enemy
Download Size: 48MB