elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

Wojciech Kilar - Bram Stoker's Dracula OST

This is hands down, one of the best soundtracks to a horror movie ever penned. Wojciech Kilar has a very special and rare ability to use an instrument to grand effect, he knows how to use an instrument emotionally a great example of this can be heard on "Love Remembered" where he manages to create an emotional state with the bare help of a simple flute. Its very rare for a composer to capture the very essence of the instrument itself, and what's even more rare is how he manages to compile an album filled with various emotions like: sadness, loneliness, love, and lust.

It's very obvious what Wojciech Kilar tried to accomplish with this score, the wanted to make a soundtrack that is capable of adapting every kind of emotion from the aggressive, yet gentle "Vampire Hunters" to the heart drenching pain of "Love Eternal." It is very rare for a composer to capture the very heart of a movie or a play, but that is not the case with this soundtrack. The music here mirrors the movie in such a way that it leaves nothing to be desired. Wojciech Kilar manages to capture and explore the Dracula theme to the fullest.

Track List:
1. The Beginning
2. Vampire Hunters
3. Mina's Photo
4. Lucy's Party
5. The Brides
6. The Storm
7. Love Remembered
8. The Hunt Builds
9. The Hunters Prelude
10. The Green Mist
11. Mina Dracula
12. The Ring Of Fire
13. Love Eternal
14. Ascension
15. End Credits
16. Love Song For A Vampire

Download: Bram Stoker's Dracula OST
Download Size: 125MB