elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Thursday, October 09, 2008

Zacherle - Dinner With Drac!

I've been asked to return here and guest blog for the Halloween festivities. I'd like to start off with a personal favorite of mine. This album is called "Dinner With Drac" and it's from legendary horror host John Zacherle (better known simply as Zacherle). Released in 1958 at the apex of the "horror kid" generation, this is probably Zacherle's most popular and sought after novelty lp. There are some real classics on here! Along with the title track we've got "Happy Halloween", a weird re-telling of "Little Red Riding Hood", and my personal favorite "Pistol Stomp". The music is a sort of surf/rock/jazz combination perfect to get your Halloween groove on. There's even a cover of "Let's Twist Again" complete with gruesome lyric changes!


1. Dinner With Drac
2. Come With Me To Transylvania
3. Pistol Stomp
4. Ghoul View Commercial
5. Dummy Doll
6. Happy Halloween
7. Let's Twist Again
8. I Was A Teenage Caveman
9. Hello Dolly
10. A Tisket A Casket
11. Surfboard 109
12. Coolest Little Monster
13. Clementine
14. Hurry Bury Baby
15. Zacherle For President
16. Little Red Riding Hood
17. Limb From Limbo Rock
18. The Spider And The Fly
19. A Wicket Thought
20. Igor
21. Spiderman Lullabye

Download "Dinner With Drac" @192