elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Friday, October 20, 2006

Jon Spencer Blues Explosion - Extra Width

This album brought blues-rock into the alternative era. On its second full-length release, the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion lives up to its name. Merging blues with the post-grungeangst of Sonic Youth or Mudhoney and a rock & roll urgency,the band brings down the house with 11 sexy, rocking tunes.

The Explosion play from the inside with soul. The Structure centers around minimilistic riffs, stuck together in ways that keep you guessing. It's got a live vibe with well thought out production layers. Sythns, distortion, echoes, delays.....it's all there keeping your ears alive over the central backdrop that is the blues explosion. This album gives you the impression that their jams are out there - literally exploding with energy. The title is referencing the genres that they demonstrate their knowledge of. The use of the fender rhodes sounding organ reminds you of the jams on the second side of 'Check Your Head' by the 'Beastie Boys'. The crazy screeching saxophone and it's mirrored guitar solo's throw you back to 'Fun House' by The Stooges; exploring a fuzzed up raw power of their own. Similarites to 'The Pixies' and 'Mudhoney' are also worth mentioning. Above all, this is a three piece with most of the tracks actually leaving the bass out and still managing to sound heavy as hell. This is a noise trip not for the faint hearted, but one that will make you angry and enthused inside. (Year of Release: 1993)

Track List
1. Afro
2. History Of Lies
3. Back Slider
4. Soul Letter
5. Soul Typecast
6. Pant Leg
7. Hey Mom
8. Big Road
9. Train (2)
10. Inside The World Of The Blues Explosion
11. World Of Sex

Download: Jon Spencer Blues Explosion - Extra Width (51.5MB)