elcome to the Digital Meltd0wn Music Blog. The aim of this blog is to introduce the readers to music that is out of print, commercially unavailable, released under a creative commons license, or with approval by the featured artist. The majority of the music posted here would be considered underground. Don't let that fool you into thinking that the music featured here might be any less enjoyable than that of the mainstream artists you hear on the radio, as this couldn't be further from the truth. Please keep in mind that the majority of the artists that appear on this blog, along with their respective record labels, are not wealthy and need your support. If you enjoy the material that you find here, please support the artists/labels by purchasing their material afterwards. If you are an artist/label that would prefer to have your material removed from this blog, simply leave me a comment, and I would be more than happy to promptly remove the offending post. In addition to running this blog, I also work on a few other projects during my spare time. You can find links to those, as well as a few other important links associated with Digital Meltd0wn in the menu bar above.

Monday, October 30, 2006

Lollipop Shoppe - Just Colour

I would like to thank Robert Johnsson, who runs the wonderful PunchDrunk music blog, for originally uploading this album. He has a fantastic blog, so get your ass over there if you haven't paid it a visit ;)

The Lollipop Shoppe were originally known as The Weeds and featured Fred Cole, now of Dead Moon. After The Weeds signed to UNI Records (a now-defunct subsidiary of MCA), their new manager, "Lord" Tim Hudson, insisted they change their name to The Lollipop Shoppe to fit in with the current trend of bubblegum music. The band's actual recordings, including the 1968 LP Just Colour, are hardly bubblegum, but instead a mix of garage rock and psychedelia. The album and its single, "You Might Be a Witch," are regarded as period classics and still prized by collectors, though neither made the charts. The band opened for stars such as Janis Joplin and The Doors, and appeared in the biker movie Angels from Hell. The album has been bootlegged; the Music Maniac label has announced a reissue but it has not appeared. The Lollipop Shoppe released one more single, "Someone I Knew" b/w "Through My Window, before breaking up in 1969. They reunited as The Weeds for a 1971 single.
(Year of Release: 1968)

Track List:
1. You Must Be a Witch
2. Underground Railroad
3. Baby Don't Go
4. Who'll Read the Will?
5. It's Only a Reflection
6. Someone I Know
7. Don't Look Back
8. Don't Close the Door on Me
9. It Ain't How Long
10. It's Makin' It
11. I'm Gonna Be There
12. You Don't Give Me No More
13. Sin
14. Through My Window

Download: The Lollipop Shoppe (67.4MB)


Khishtan said...

wow, thank you... I Love This Band...